2011 in Review

My friend Michele did a year in review on her blog, and I thought that was a great idea to recap the year. I started the year determined to make some updates to our home, which I think I achieved. Until we buy our own house, we can’t make any major updates, but we definitely upgraded many areas, bought some investment pieces, and made our bedroom look much, much better. I also kept cooking – the second half of the year saw me in the kitchen at least once a week, sometimes more – and we did this really small, insignificant thing of getting pregnant!

January

I kicked off our bedroom updates by stripping and staining an old dresser I’ve had since middle school. Mike and I also became teetotalers for a bit and Mike started a workout regimen (that he kept for the whole year, yeah!)

February

During a freak snowstorm, I snagged two matching mirror nightstands at Tuesday Morning and added cute turquoise Anthropologie knobs.

March

My sister and I made headboards at my parent’s house over the course of one weekend. Mike and I also spent some quality time with our favorite city (Austin) and my siblings during SXSW.

April

I recovered and painted a bench Mrs. Haydel gave us. I also stopped taking birth control in preparation for baby-making.

May

I reorganized some furniture in our living room, we had a fun college reunion at our friend Megan’s wedding, and we took an amazing trip to Athens, Santorini, and Istanbul! In Turkey we bought three kilims and two paintings. We sent the paintings to New Orleans to get framed.

June

Mike turned 29 and we helped my parents move out of their house.

July

Mike and I spent the 4th of July in Austin with my family, and Michele had little Ryan’s first birthday party.

August

My last hurrah – I had a girl’s weekend in Fort Worth, Mike and I took our yearly pilgrimage to San Francisco with the Nguyen’s, and we spent a fun weekend in New Orleans with Mike’s family for the Red Dress Run.

September

My first month of pregnancy! Our LSU friends came in for the LSU/Oregon game, my cousin got married on 9/10/11 (the same day we told our parents that we were pregnant), and we got matching lamps for the bedroom.

October

It was a busy month! We went to New York twice this month, once for my sister’s wedding and once for our college friend Collin’s. I also went to Las Vegas for an advertising conference. I hit my 12 week mark and told work I was pregnant, and we celebrated our two-year anniversary.

November

I turned 28 (Mike cooked an amazing dinner), and we spent Thanksgiving in New Orleans with Mike’s family. We also found out that we are having a baby girl!

December

We set up our Christmas decorations, my friend Nat had her sprinkle shower for baby boy #2 along with her first boy’s second birthday party, and I reached 21 weeks.

2012 is going to be a year of transition (or what I lovingly call “The Year Sh*t Gets Real”). We will have our baby girl within a week of Mike graduating with his PhD in May, so we’re really looking forward to what the second half of the year has in store for us. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

