Nursery pics

Although the nursery isn’t 100% finished yet (my sister offered to make felt stars to hang behind the crib and they’re still in construction), I thought I’d post where it stands now. I have the bunting from my Dallas baby shower as a placeholder behind the crib until they’re done.

Here are some pictures of the room, starting at the door and moving around to the left. Painting the walls wasn’t an option since we’re in an apartment (I probably would have done a soft gray), and I vetoed any rugs since we have carpet in there. I wanted to keep a lot of it neutral, but there are some pops of color in a few places. When I sit in the glider I just want to relax and take a nap – hopefully Louise will feel the same way. =)

 Image

Image

Image

Image

We already had the Degas print (Mike gave it to me for my birthday one year when we were in college). I already posted about the yarn “H” I made. The elephant print I found on Etsy, the maternity photo is Mike and my favorite, and the bone elephant was given to us by my grandparents. We love the sideboard we got at The Wooden House on Henderson – it’s big enough to hold pretty much all of the baby’s stuff like blankets, diapers, etc., and can comfortably fit the changing pad on the top.

Image

We decided on the bigger glider option since we’re both tall people. It’s nice – it will fit us, a baby, and all the accoutrements like My Brest Friend. Instead of a big, bulky ottoman, I settled on a pouf that is really light and easy to move around.

Image

The mobile I had custom made from Etsy, and was one of the first things we bought for the nursery. I decided to put it over the changing pad instead of the crib since we’ll have felt stars over the crib.

Image

Mrs. Haydel had a lamp made out of a seltzer bottle, and it fit really well with the room (especially the Degas print).

Image

The quilt my mom made. I like the colors with the white crib.

Image

When I made the yarn H, I also wrapped a wooden “love” sign with gray yarn. I had a photo of my grandparent’s wedding day from when I got married, and wanted to incorporate it in some way into the nursery since my grandfather is the only one who won’t be able to meet Louise. I found the frame at World Market.

I also have a white frame without anything in it because I’m waiting to put something baby-related (newborn pics, footprints…something like that). It looks a little weird now, but not for long!

The thing at the top is a heart-shaped rock. Don’t worry, its pretty stable up there and far out of the way of anyone’s path.

Image

I didn’t plan on having a lot of name-related stuff in the nursery but it just kind of worked out that way. The dress used to be mine – my mom kept it this whole time and brought it over the other day.

Image

The closet. 🙂 I just scored more clothes from my mom’s new neighbor so it just continues to grow. I think I need to focus on more things like socks but it’s so hard to not buy clothes!

Image

There you have it. I’ll post an update once I get the felt stars in place.

One thought on “Nursery pics

Leave a Reply

