Thanksgiving weekend

We had a good time this Thanksgiving. Rusty came in from Austin and it was officially a Fausak Thanksgiving (we’re in New Orleans this Christmas). On Thursday we woke up…

There she is, hanging on for dear life! Mike came in to say hello. She loves her dad. (Still hanging on to the crib slats).

We dressed her in her Thanksgiving outfit, which consisted of a chambray smocked shirt and flower-print corduroys.

Smooches from dad!!!

Hanging out with mom.

We drove over to my parents’ house and got to cooking. Mike wanted to make a fried turkey (my mom was also roasting a turkey). My dad was happy to help.

Mike also made hush puppies, and of course we had all of the regular Thanksgiving fare – mashed potatoes, green beans, cranberry sauce, stuffing/dressing, homemade rolls, etc.

Louise may have tried some pumpkin pie and homemade whipped cream. =)

It was a great evening, and afterward Mike and I headed back home with Louise.

The next day we went back to my parents’ house so Mike could use the leftover turkey (and the bones) to make gumbo. Mike’s gumbo is always good, but I am telling you that this gumbo was the best I’ve ever had. So, so, so delicious.

We rounded out the day by decorating our Christmas tree. We decided not to get a big one this year since our apartment doesn’t have a great place to put it and we’ll be out of town for Christmas. We agreed on a tabletop tree, but the one I got from Whole Foods is seriously crooked and not fixable (I knew it was crooked when I bought it but thought we could adjust it). No worries, a couple of duplicate copies of books under the spokes and we were good to go.

Yarn ornaments so Louise can’t ruin anything, a mini-tree skirt, and we were good to go! Of course I already had presents to put under the tree. That’s just how I roll.

Leave a Reply

