Dreaming

I had a dream last night in which I was swimming in a pool with Louise. We’re just hanging out when she turns flat on her stomach and drops like a stone to the bottom. I think “no problem” and try to dive down to her, but my body is like a gigantic flotation device and refuses to go below the water. Panicked, I look up at my mom, who has already assessed the situation and dives down to get Louise. Louise is fine – she thought it was fun – but I am confused and upset. Why couldn’t I be there for my daughter? Why did I need help for something that seemed so easy?

I don’t think the symbolism could have been more clear.

Leave a Reply

