Dominique and Ross’ couples shower: Projects

I knew at the get-go when the wedding party decided to throw this shower that I’d want to contribute in some way to the decor. I was a little nervous because I didn’t know if New Orleans people have a different way they throw parties (my friends and I tend to go a bit overboard with the DIY stuff), but it worked out. =)

First up, I ordered the invitations from Etsy. Sorry for the blurry pic.

Dominique invitation adjusted

I saw a cute writing style while browsing Etsy and thought I’d try it on Dominique and Ross’ invitation, but ended up doing about 25 invitations that way (mostly the wedding party and friends). As I always do, I panicked thinking that people wouldn’t like them, but I think it was well received.

Invitations1

Invitations2

I thought a chalkboard sign for the bar would be a nice touch. Chalkboard markers, although so difficult to find (not at Michaels or Hobby Lobby…only JoAnn), are fantastic – they’re really easy to write with, and if you mess up you just wipe it down with a wet paper towel and start over.

Dom shower sign

We also ordered crawfish koozies and custom koozies. The perfectionist in me was a little irked that the red color of the koozies weren’t exactly the same, but somehow, I moved on.

Dom shower koozies

Whitney (the matron of honor) and I had a lot of back and forth about some other decor, and we thought a banner would be good for the party. I typed in “burlap banner” into Pinterest and found a couple of options. I started with a photo banner.

_Photo garland crop

_Photo garland closeup

I also did one with letters. My friend Michele has a Cricut and using that to cut the letters helped tremendously. This picture is terrible but you get the idea.

DSC_5344

We added a few other things like balloons and crawfish-patterned kraft paper. The party ended up looking great!

DSC_5340 DSC_5343 DSC_5355 DSC_5339

I think the bride and groom were pleased.

IMG_4285

One thought on “Dominique and Ross’ couples shower: Projects

Leave a Reply

