Louise’s first birthday party

Since Louise was born on a Friday, we were lucky enough to have her party on her actual birthday! I was a little bummed because most of my friends couldn’t make it, but it turned out to be a perfectly-sized group of people. Louise didn’t get overwhelmed (she actually ended up flirting with everyone) and we had more than enough food.

I’ve been planning this party for a while and knew I wanted it to be Cinco de Mayo themed. I have some DIY posts coming up, but here are a few of the decorations.

DSC_5422 DSC_5423 DSC_5426 DSC_5428 DSC_5432 DSC_5433

We kept the food simple with fajitas. We got the meat already marinated at a Mexican meat market right by where I work. It was delicious. My grandmother also made some amazing guacamole, and we whipped up some queso as well.

DSC_5435 DSC_5437 DSC_5449 DSC_5450

Once everyone ate, we had cake and presents. Louise loved her four-layer cake! She’s had practice eating cake twice (once with her smash cake pics and once at her Nola birthday party), so she knew to dig right in. Grandpa gave her a spoon halfway through and she did some damage with that as well.

DSC_5457 DSC_5467 DSC_5468 DSC_5473 DSC_5488 DSC_5491

I made a fringe wall as a backdrop for pics. It ended up looking pretty good! The people in front are ok also. =)

DSC_5492

Carlie did the PWC (post-wedding chop) and it looks great!

DSC_5495

My parents were in love with Ethan. It was so great to see him – he’s grown so much and is turning into such an adorable little man! Not to brag or anything but I’m pretty sure I made him smile a few times. I’m basically an expert in babies.

DSC_5504 DSC_5507 DSC_5512 DSC_5517 DSC_5518

DSC_5442

I had a great time, but was totally exhausted when 4pm rolled around. I think the mixture of anticipating the party, the two margaritas, and the margarita cupcake took its toll and I collapsed on the couch. The good thing is I had a few fabulous women do most of the clean up while I recovered.

I’m so happy it went well, and so happy all of those crafts are finally off of my kitchen table! I’m looking forward to the next year with Lil’ Weezy.

Leave a Reply

