Louise’s DIY Birthday: Mini pinatas

While spending way too much time thinking of things for this party, I came across a great idea for party favors: miniature pinatas! Although I was excited about these, I had been putting off making them because I thought they’d be tedious. Although they did take a long time, they were actually pretty fun. I free-handed a donkey outline and cut out my shapes (two for each pinata, one front and one back) from cereal boxes. I also cut strips about 1.5″ wide to connect the two sides.

Mini pinata_cutouts

Then I taped the two sides together using masking tape. Like I said, I was worried it would be difficult but it was really easy. It took about 12-15 minutes to assemble each donkey.

Mini pinata_assembled

I stuffed the goodies in there before sealing it up (I used M&M’s), versus making a trap door. I figured it would be easy enough to get into these guys.

Mini pinata_candy

I had myself a little herd.

IMG_3365

Then I cut up some tissue paper to make the fringe. I folded the paper so I wouldn’t have to make too many cuts.

IMG_3355 IMG_3356 IMG_3357

I unfolded them to make one long strip.

IMG_3358

It was pinata-making time! I picked a color order and started gluing. I used two strips of the same color before moving on to the next.

IMG_3366

After about 15 minutes, I had my first pinata!

IMG_3367

I made six more. It took a while but it was easy enough. My herd developed some color and found a mom (the big lady in the back that I bought at JoAnn’s for $9).

IMG_3417

Mike always makes fun of me for embarking on these super detailed, random projects, and this definitely qualifies. But I’m pleased with the turnout!

Leave a Reply

