Shape up

I wanted to talk about my recent (and new) experience buying SHAPEWEAR!!! FOR THE MODERN WOMAN. I realize the rest of women in America already know about and use shapewear (I couldn’t get out of a bar bathroom in college without some sorority girl complaining about her Spanx); for some reason it’s always been the Product I Will Not Use. I decided I was going to be “real” and “deal with it.”

And then I had a baby.

My sister-in-law’s wedding is next weekend and it’s going to be a rip-roaring good time. Since I’m primping every other part of my body to make sure I look good in pictures (hair cut and color, mani-pedi, spray tan), I figured I might as well bite the bullet and see if this fancy elastic stuff can help.

I went to Nordstrom after lunch with a friend (had to fill my belly with food for maximum effect) and got to shoppin’. I was specifically looking for something that tucked in my tummy, did not have shoulder straps, and didn’t go too far down my legs (Spanx poking out from under bridesmaid dress? Awk). I picked up four options and started squeezing in.

I tried on the following products:

YT Jordan Shaper

Yummie Tummie Jordan Shaper

YT Jasmine Shaping Thong

Yummie Tummie Jasmine Shaping Thong

Wacoal iPant

Wacoal iPants Long Line Anti-Cellulite Shaper

DKNY

…the last one is DKNY but I can’t find it on Nordstrom’s site.

So here is my review:

  • Yummie Tummie Jordan Shaper: This was the first one I tried on, and I LOVED IT. It went high enough for my long torso and it really seemed to suck in all of the goods.
  • Yummie Tummie Jasmine Shaping Thong: I was really hoping this would work since it’s a thong, but it just wasn’t as sucky-inny as the Jordan shaper. It was good at smoothing things out but didn’t really hold it in.
  • Wacoal iPants: Man, these were pretty sweet, but they had two pretty major strikes against them: they were too long in the leg, and didn’t go up high enough. Notice the belly bulge at the top when I bent over:

Bulge

  • DKNY: These made me look worse. They were extra enforced in some areas and less in others which created random bulges, and they were way too short on top causing upper-tummy lumps.

So in the end, I went with the first one (Yummie Tummie Jordan Shaper). As I was checking out I remembered this brand was launched by Heather from The Real Housewives of New York. So not only do I watch trashy television, but I support their products as well. I’m such a giver.

For reference, here’s the before and after. Don’t judge the first pic…I just ate lunch and was pushing my tummy out big time.

Before

After

Leave a Reply

