Toddler activities

Every weekend, Mike and I try to think of things to do with Louise to keep her entertained, engaged, etc. We have our mainstays – the Arboretum when it’s not hot, the grocery store, Cindi’s Deli for brunch, jogging with me on Saturday morning, the pool…but sometimes we just need something to do around the house.

I checked Pinterest for “toddler activities” – it’s a little tough because she’s not an older toddler but she’s not an infant, so finding activities she can do and is interested in is tricky. Here’s how today went.

TODDLER ACTIVITY #1: PUTTING CHEERIOS ON PIPE CLEANERS

Louise likes Cheerios and I like pipe cleaners so I thought this would be a winner. I used the ugly pipe cleaners because I didn’t want to “waste” the good colors (what?). I started putting Cheerios on and she looked interested…and then grabbed one and started biting the Cheerios off and eating them.

IMG_4563

…and then dumped all of the pipe cleaners on the floor.

IMG_4565

We did discover that Nietzsche likes playing with pipe cleaners.

IMG_4581

And once I made them into bracelets Louise and I were back in business.

IMG_4586

RESULT: fail for Lou, win for Nietzsche

TODDLER ACTIVITY #2: MESS-FREE FINGER PAINTING

I checked to see if I had anything that could pass for paint, and I had some glitter paint in a few different colors. I squirted them in a gallon-sized ziploc bag, taped it to the ground, and showed Louise. She played with it for about two minutes:

IMG_4571 IMG_4567

…and then decided that sliding backward over it was more fun.

IMG_4573

RESULT: win? She did come back to it throughout the day and poke at it for a few seconds, but it didn’t really keep her busy which was the goal.

TODDLER ACTIVITY #3: COLORING WITH CHALK

This one wasn’t on Pinterest; I just noticed I had chalk and figured it might keep her busy. It did for a couple of minutes.

IMG_4574

…and then she decided to eat the chalk. (Cue mom freak-out and checking of box to ensure “non-toxic”)

IMG_4577

RESULT: fail (once I noticed a white paste oozing out of her mouth we quickly abandoned the chalk project)

Sooo, it did knock about an hour off of the day but nothing really kept her attention for more than five minutes. We’ve noticed that Louise is more of a mover and shaker than a focused project baby – she will listen to music and dance for upward of thirty minutes, and she’ll toddle laps around our kitchen island or climb the couch and chair for twenty+ minutes. I think we just need to figure out more action-oriented activities!

Leave a Reply

