Halloween costume planning: Part I

As most of you know, I’m obsessed with October in general and Halloween in particular.

Halloween_Tenenbaums

However, I have never been the “slutty costume” girl when it comes to Halloween…I like to DIY when it comes to costumes:

  • I prefer to cobble something together from different pieces or make it entirely from scratch versus buying a costume-in-a-bag. To me, you’re taking away one of the most fun parts of Halloween – making your costume!
  • When in a relationship or family, I love to do a group/coordinated costume. Same goes with roommates. It just works better – and again, is more fun. Calvin and Hobbes, Peter Pan, Hook, and Tinkerbell, and Ritchie and Margot Tenenbaum are a few of my previous couple/family costumes.

Halloween_Peter Pan

  • I greatly appreciate topical costumes but I tend to favor classics.
  • I DO NOT reveal what my costume is prior to wearing it.

Halloween_Calvin Hobbes

I started brainstorming potential Halloween ideas for Mike, Louise, and me a couple of months ago, and when I came across one option I just knew it was the right one. It made Louise the star of the show with Mike and I as supporting characters, her costume could be hand-made by my mom while Mike and mine could be purchased in easy, inexpensive pieces, and Mike’s isn’t too costume-y so he won’t get all huffy when he actually has to put it on.

Here’s a little sneak peek of some of the materials…looking forward to finalizing the costumes and debuting them!

IMG_4650

Wolf costume

Leave a Reply

