Books for kids

Books are a really important part of Mike and my lives, and going into parenthood we knew they were going to be important for our children, too. My parents placed a lot of weight on reading and so did Mike’s, and it definitely rubbed off. We have a pretty decent book collection already but as Louise is getting older, I’d like to add to it with more of the classic kid books. A few people have asked me for a way to catalog what we have and what we need, which I’m still figuring out (I might try to use Goodreads). In the meantime, I came across a Flavorwire article of “50 books every parents should read to their child,” and I think it’s a fantastic list. I wrote them out here so I wouldn’t forget – the ones with asterisks next to them are books we already own. I get nostalgic just looking at the titles of some of these books – Roald Dahl, I’m looking at you.

Where The Wild Things Are
D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths (I’ve read this at least fifty times)
The Paper Bag Princess
Corduroy
Harold and the Purple Crayon
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People’s Ears
The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Goodnight Moon*
The Giving Tree*
Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day
The Snowy Day
Caps for Sale
Madeline
The Story of Ferdinand
Strega Nona
Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters
The Cat in the Hat (all Dr Seuss, really)
The Tale of Peter Rabbit
Make Way for Ducklings
Stone Soup
The Rough Face Girl
The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales
Frog and Toad are Friends
Clifford the Big Red Dog
The Story of Babar
Lon Po Po
This is Not My Hat
The Invention of Hugo Cabret
The Wind in the Willows
The Little Prince
The Hundred Dresses
Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel
The Wizard of Oz
Winnie the Pooh*
Little Bear
Sylvester and the Magic Pebble
The Big Orange Splot
The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses
My Father’s Dragon
The Sweetest Fig
Charlotte’s Web
The BFG* (I took most of my Roald Dahl collection but they’re in rough shape)
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing
The Happy Hocky Family
Velveteen Rabbit
Curious George*
Tikki Tikki Tembo (-no sa rembo-chari bari ruchi-pip peri pembo has fallen into the well!)
Amazing Grace
Zen Shorts
The Three Pigs

Leave a Reply

