Birthday fun, part II

I was lucky enough to get TWO birthday get-togethers this year! This past Saturday, a few of my girlfriends swooped me up and took me on a fun afternoon and evening adventure. I knew it was happening but I didn’t have any idea what the plans were. With these girls, i wasn’t worried in the least – I knew it would be a good time. We’re all planners by nature and it shows. =)

FIRST STOP:
We all met at Lindsey’s and drove to Northpark. We strolled in and headed to Paper Source – I did not know this but they do group project classes! Ours was focused around embossing: we all got to emboss five pieces of stationery (and make envelope liners). It might not sound like the coolest event to some people but we had the best time – and we left with customized cards! Our instructor was quite the character as well so that definitely spiced up the afternoon.

IMG_5034 IMG_5035 IMG_5036

SECOND STOP:
After Paper Source, we packed in the car again and headed to a salon to get mani-pedis. I really needed a manicure so this was perfect – and the place the ladies chose was great for chatting. I sustained a small injury but we kept rollin’. Oh and I ate a delicious key lime cupcake because I could.

IMG_5038

THIRD STOP:
Although we were slightly ahead of schedule, we piled in the car again and headed out to Oak Cliff for a delicious dinner at Lucia! I was very impressed…this restaurant is notorious for being impossible to get reservations. Lindsey had to call at the stroke of 9am on October first to get us in. Although the consensus was that the food wasn’t the best we’ve ever eaten, it was still very delicious (especially their house-made bread) and the atmosphere was perfect. Unfortunately we didn’t get a picture of all of us there – I think a few of us snagged food photos – but it was a lovely time and I was delighted at the day my friends planned for me.

After that most of us went home and went to bed because we’re old now. I couldn’t have asked for a better afternoon with my girls!

Leave a Reply

