Shopping binge

I have been getting a little antsy lately about getting some key pieces of furniture for our home. Here are our current house needs:

Dresser for Louise
Some kind of bookcase for the den
A mantle
Gas logs and a screen for the fireplace
Shutters
A console for the den that doesn’t cover the vents but has storage (right now we just have a long table)
An updated piece of furniture for under the TV in the living room
A bench for our bedroom
A headboard for the guest bed
Update the garage

First: Louise’s dresser. I didn’t want to go down the old Pottery Barn route but I was starting to get desperate. I even considered just getting something from IKEA to tide me over (their dressers are actually pretty cute). Luckily two things happened: I found an antique mall across the street from our neighborhood, and Mrs. Haydel came to visit. She’s basically our interior designer/personal shopper, so I knew she’d help me make the right decision. They had a cute old pine dresser I had my eye on, and Mrs H liked it as well so I negotiated the price down and snagged it!
IMG_8905

Next, the bookcase. I wasn’t really thinking about it specifically, but Celine and Louise’s books had started piling up in the den and I wasn’t really sure what to do. Until we get a more substantial console, we needed more storage in there. We found this little bookcase at the same antique mall as Louise’s dresser, and it was priced to sell. We snatched it.
IMG_8890 IMG_8891

Finally, the bedroom bench. I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled for a long, skinny bench to put under our gallery wall in our bedroom. Something low profile but that we could sit and put our shoes on, or toss laundry on it, or something. I hadn’t really found anything – there were some generic benches at HomeGoods that were ok but they were shorter. Mrs Haydel and I were dashing through the Forestwood Antique Mall when we spotted this one. Good color, six feet long, low profile, not expensive. Done!
3.6.15 bench

So now our list looks a little shorter:

Dresser for Louise
Some kind of bookcase for the den
A mantle
Gas logs and a screen for the fireplace
Shutters
A console for the den that doesn’t cover the vents but has storage (right now we just have a long table)
An updated piece of furniture for under the TV in the living room
A bench for our bedroom
A headboard for the guest bed
Update the garage

Leave a Reply

